The greener grass

Posted: March 7, 2019 in Perasaan Hati
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

A full year and then some after my dismissal, Sponsor finally got in touch: I am to attend an interview for the exact same job I had before I did my Masters.

Everyone I told this news was ecstatic on my behalf, but I am less than thrilled. I’m simply over it, you know? After my Masters, I’ve only taught college-level students and I love it. Bigger kids – higher maturity – less hassle – you can actually speak to them from your level – more fun. You know how much I love the freedom that I have with my current technically-freelancing job. Last week the new semester started and despite being crazy busy and just bone-dead tired in the evenings, I’ve caught myself in the mornings thinking, I am genuinely happy.

Besides, I love my private life now. Where I live is a little outside of the capital, but close enough to enjoy the perks. I have a decent house with a landlord who leaves me alone. I’ve made some very good hiking friends lately and on weekends there is always a little hill or a mountain somewhere to surmount. Overall my life is just swimmingly.

When I think about how I’d have to give up all these were I transferred to some Godforsaken nook of the country to teach high school, it just gives me the chills.

So how dare you – you who were lucky enough to have had her entire student loan waived by Sponsor – say that you wished they had asked you to serve out your loan than give you a free pass?

Leave a comment